Saturday, Apr 19th

Last update:11:59:16 AM GMT

You are here: Course Details ICWAI FOUNDATION COURSE




The first level of the CWA/ICWA course conducted by the institute of cost and works accountants of india is identified as Foundation. This is the Lowest level at which a student can start pursuing the Cost Accountancy course.

The minimum course duration as per the regulations of the institution is 6 months. The course duration is the minimum time that a student has to spend on taking up the course at this level. It is the period starting from the time the student gets registered for the course, to the time the student completes the course at this level.

The main/final examinations for the CWA/ICWA course at this level are conducted twice every year generally on specified dates which do not change except under extraordinary circumstances.

June Examination

Third Week of June [15th to 18th]

December Examination

Third Week of December [14th to 17th ]

The CWA/ICWA course at the Foundation level consists of only theoretical examinations. There are 6 subjects arranged into 4 papers each of 100 marks.

Pass Marks

To pass/qualify at the examination a student has to obtain a minimum of 40% in each paper and an aggregate of 50% in all the papers together, failing which the student has to reappear in all the papers of the module again.


There are no provisions for exemptions to students, even in conditions where the student has obtained high marks.

A student to get through the papers at this level and thereby pass the Foundation level to be eligible to go to the next (Intermediate) level of the course.


The syllabus of the Institute has been revised w.e.f. 01-01-2008 and is applicable for all new admissions. The new syllabus is founded upon Four Knowledge Pillars viz. Management, Strategy, Financial Reporting and Regulator functions.

Foundation Course:

1. Organisation and Management Fundamentals (OMF)

2. Accounting (ACT)

3. Economics and Business Fundamentals (EBF)

4. Business Mathematics and Statistics Fundamentals (BMS)


Shri Sultan Chand Memorial Book Prize

  • Awarded By:
    Shri Sultan Chand Memorial Book Trust
  • Awarded To:
    The students securing First Rank, Second Rank and Third Rank in Foundation Course Examination.
  • The Prize:


Comments (2)

Subscribe to this comment's feed
iam completed M.B.A. Finance. can u suggest which group elgible for me.
munirathnam , September 10, 2011
Dear sir,
I did my MBA finance and I want to do the course which help me for handling my business and also do professional practice. so please suggest me what should I do.
Laxmikant A. kulkarni , September 23, 2011

Write comment

smaller | bigger
security image
Write the displayed characters

Random Content